Ice Cube, Tyler, The Creator, Earl Sweatshirt and More to Perform at 2016 Afropunk Festival

The 2016 Afropunk Festival lineup has been announced and it features a healthy combination of old school hip-hop stars and the new generation of talent. Ice Cube, Tyler, The Creator, Flying Lotus, The Internet, Thundercat, Angel Haze, CeeLo Green, Earl Sweatshirt and more are scheduled to perform at the festival.

Afropunk is scheduled to take place August 27 and 28 at Brooklyn’s Commodore Barry Park in Fort Greene. Since it is an election year, the festival will have the theme of “Power to the Party.”

“Power to the Party means trusting the friction, the transference of great capacity to the free spirit, belief in the high-heeled spark of the assembly and the group-mind’s ability to choose a glorious path,” Afropunk said in its press release. “This isn’t about getting elected, or being protected; it’s about staking a claim.”

Afropunk will also stick with its plans to keep the festival the most affordable ticket on the growing festival scene. Organizers will continue its earned ticket program, which gives those interested in attending the opportunity to volunteer for admittance.

“Last year Afropunk worked closely with partners to provide volunteer activities and projects for 16,000 fans to compete in exchange for a ticket to the festival (a minimum of eight hours of volunteer work will earn one General Admission Weekend pass) this year. The volunteer program creates awareness for organizations and helps deliver a sustainable impact to communities in need.”

Tickets for the festival are available now and the full lineup can be seen via Afropunk’s website.

30 Albums That Will Make You Appreciate Hip-Hop

Image of